创建的实验室 民主创新.
创建的实验室 民主创新.

我们的工作

我们的工作

我们目前在我们的那个学生重塑政府校本计划的第四年, 结合我们的民主实验的目的与提供青少年的体验民主教育的新焦点. 在它的心脏, 这些项目涉及与那些随机选择,并从学生群体内旋转代替民选政府的学生采取更加包容性和代表性的做法. 这表示在典型的学生政府对比度哪里 - 并联成人治理更普遍的 - 某些类型的学生 (通常是最热门, 离任, 或者野心勃勃) 运行短运动, 和表决后的学生绝大多数都排除进一步参与.

虽然比成人更对口有限, 学生自治会往往代表着公民的民主第一次接触,并在他们的生活中形成的时间发生. 更多独家的方法来学生政府允许有只有一小部分发言权或者体验,伴随着积极参与社会和领导力发展, 他们还冒险正火脱离接触. 通过与像随机选择和旋转试验的做法, 学生组织的更大,更具代表性的部分参与, 并鼓励学生批判性和创造性思考如何最好地影响他们的问题,他们的社区参与. 学生也有权以解决所找出的问题 - 过去的学生政府项目有, 例如, 创建库, 需要公交出具学生证, 会见市长, 并组织教育实地考察.

学生供电民主试验

学校也是实验的大环境. 学生自治的独特功能 - 它的相对规模和简单, 普遍缺乏既得利益, 而低风险设置 - 允许想象力很大, 创造力, 和他的动手. 学生政府可以从根本上重新改造,从而提供了一个窥探到的可能性,并像随机选择结合实践问题到日常管理. 的确, 学生政府的连续运行,使其他的突袭中是独一无二的,这些项目将在政治上利用随机选择的, 过去的地方,如公民陪审团举措通常是暂时的, 该研究单一的问题一次性举措.

至今, 这些项目已在四所学校实施在玻利维亚的科恰班巴地区. 了解更多关于下面的每个, 参观我们 常见问题解答部分 看看我们为什么在玻利维亚正在努力,并得到我们的未来计划感.

研究

除了我们民主的创新实践不断试验, 民主在实践中致力于记录和促进我们的项目的正式研究:


支持我们的工作!

我们需要你的帮助,继续努力开发和共享更好的方法来做到民主!



洞察

“最美的经验是那些友谊, 尊重, 服务他人, 学习耐心. 而最美丽的, 经验,每个人都应该有, 是奋斗的东西,似乎是不可能的. 与经验,你学习生活是关于什么的。”

-德西, 在金塔尼利亚学生政府成员

最佳
这是
民主在实践
民主在实践

Creating laboratories of democratic innovation.
Creating laboratories of democratic innovation.

Our Work

Our Work

We are currently in our third year of school-based projects that reinvent student government, combining our aim of democratic experimentation with the added focus of providing young people with an experiential democratic education. At its heart, these projects involve adopting a more inclusive and representative approach by replacing elected student governments with those that are randomly selected and rotated from within the student population. This stands in contrast with typical student government where – paralleling adult governance more generally – certain kinds of students (usually the most popular, outgoing, or ambitious) run short campaigns, and after a vote the vast majority of students are excluded from further participation.

While more limited than its adult counterpart, student government often represents citizens’ first encounters with democracy and takes place at a formative time in their lives. More exclusive approaches to student government allow only a select few to have a say or experience the social and leadership development that accompanies active participation, and they also risk normalizing disengagement. By experimenting with practices like random selection and rotation, a larger and more representative portion of the student body is involved, and students are encouraged to think critically and creatively about how best to involve their communities in the issues that affect them. Students are also empowered to address the issues that they identify – past student government projects have, for example, created libraries, issued student ID cards needed for public transit, met with the city mayor, and organized educational field trips.

Student-Powered Democratic Experimentation

Schools are also a great environment for experimentation. The unique features of student government – its relative size and simplicity, the general lack of vested interests, and the low-risk setting – allow for a great deal of imagination, creativity, and tinkering. Student governments can be reinvented from the ground up and therefore offer a glimpse into the possibilities and problems of incorporating practices like random selection into everyday governance. Indeed, the continuous operation of student governments makes these projects unique among other forays into the use of random selection in politics, where past initiatives such as Citizens’ Juries are usually temporary, one-off initiatives that examine a single issue.

To date, these projects have been implemented in four schools in the Cochabamba region of Bolivia. Find out more about each below, and visit our FAQs section to see why we are working in Bolivia and to get a sense of our future plans.

Research

In addition to our ongoing practical experimentation with democratic innovations, Democracy In Practice is committed to documenting and facilitating the formal research of our projects:


Support our work!

We need your help to continue working to develop and share better ways to do democracy!



Insights

“We have seen students who in their course would never be elected even Course President, for example, but the student lottery has allowed them to assume responsibility…and they respond to that responsibility that has been given to them. That’s a really positive thing.”

-Alex Argandoña, Director of the Night High School in Quintanilla

Top
ES
Democracy In Practice
Democracy In Practice