民主在实践 – 在上下文

民主在实践 是创新, 贡献, 和实验的方式和环境所特有, 我们仍然建立在 - 跟 - 其他一些作品, 群体, 并努力. 如此, 我们是一个更广泛的背景的一部分: 民主实验, 创新, 创作的, 和关键朝着社区决策方法, 和体验民主的方式,从现代选举政治的不同. 我们目前的重点是决策者的随机选择和轮换将让我们在其他使用类似的工具,既可以增加日常个人有意义的参与自己的治理和开发比较有代表性的决策行为, 更审慎, 并且不易受到操纵的特殊利益.

各种组织和社区拥有先进的这些做法在政治上利用和开发. 自20世纪70年代, 随机选择的公民陪审团, 理事会, 板, 大会, 和议会提供了常人的机会,探讨并提出建议,范围从医疗保健削减政治问题, 当地水和交通政策, 市政预算,甚至国家宪法.

一个公民’ 陪审团在澳大利亚被给予我们的合作伙伴之一, 在newDemocracy基金会

全球运动


这些团体在澳大利亚被越来越普遍, 加拿大, 美国, 和欧洲. 类似的过程 – 协商民意测验 – 已实行整个欧洲以及阿根廷, 巴西, 中国, 日本, 韩国, 澳门. 其他举措已经看到这些工具陪实际决策权. 韩国的绿党, 例如, 随机选择的所有成员的 2013 年度大会决定下一年党的预算和行动计划. 因为 2003, 萨帕塔社区在恰帕斯, 墨西哥支配着自己与旋转“好政府理事会”, 以允许所有的社区成员的目标 (男人, 妇女, 和青年) 一转作为理事会成员,以增加熟悉, 和信任, 他们的政府. 尽管它往往并不能使头条新闻, 有很多团体积极推动这一增长的移动和已有数百值得注意的民主实验只是在过去的几十年. 下面的互动式地图突出了启发我们几, 给的只是如何的想法 全球 运动真的是 (并显示其他一些群体做,您应该遵循的重要工作, 支持, 和插入!).

点击一个彩色的点,并连同相关链接的详细信息将出现在地图下方, 和 让我们知道 如果有一个社区, 组织, 或事件,你觉得我们应该增加!

百合 已经尝试用民主的创新形式的社区
蓝色 - 光 组织致力于民主革新
绿色 - 光 公民陪审团/板/组件
黄色 协商民意调查
橙子 其他创新举措

Global Movement Placeholder
全球运动

传承经典


我们的努力可能还可以看到一个历史的连续性, 既不随机选择也不转动新. 无论是在雅典为根本,以治理, 希腊那里的“民主”一词最早是围绕创造 2,500 几年前.

什么民主的真正含义是在雅典?
TED-埃德视频由梅丽莎施瓦茨贝里

在和出领导岗位的人们的日常轮换也一直在El农村氏族公社中心的做法, 治理在玻利维亚许多农村社区斯使用的一种形式, 秘鲁, 和厄瓜多尔自前印加时代. 随机选择和决策者的旋转也受到中央法院陪审团制度在世界许多国家. 一起看, 上面的现代化举措表明在这些做法的变革潜力的新的兴趣, 还有一个更富有创造性的方法来治理的出现更普遍. 民主在实践形成这种创意礼物的一部分, 从我们的经验中学习,从而努力有助于建立一个更加民主的未来.

欲了解更多信息,以及新闻源,并推荐阅读, 检查出在侧边栏的链接!

了解更多!

一般

Participedia

在替代民主实践的新闻

openDemocracy 平等抽签 (博客)

推荐阅读

Demarchy (小册子) 布赖恩·马丁 在政治随机选择 林恩·卡森和布赖恩·马丁 当人民说话 由詹姆斯·菲什基 是民主成为可能? 由约翰·伯恩海姆 雅典民主德莫斯森斯的年龄: 结构体, 原则, 和意识形态 通过莫根斯·赫尔曼·汉森

支持我们的工作!

我们需要你的帮助,继续努力开发和共享更好的方法来做到民主!

最佳
这是
民主在实践
民主在实践

Democracy In Practice – In Context

While Democracy In Practice is innovating, contributing, and experimenting in ways and contexts that are unique, we nonetheless build on – and connect with – a number of other works, groups, and efforts. In this way, we are part of a broader context: of democratic experimentation, of innovative, creative, and critical approaches toward community decision-making, and of ways of experiencing democracy that differ from contemporary electoral politics. Our current focus on the random selection and rotation of decision-makers places us among others using similar tools to both increase the meaningful participation of everyday individuals in their own governance and develop decision-making practices that are more representative, more deliberative, and less vulnerable to manipulation by particular interests.

A variety of organizations and communities have advanced the political use and development of these practices. Since the 1970s, randomly selected Citizens’ Juries, Councils, Panels, Assemblies, and Parliaments have provided everyday people the opportunity to investigate and advise on political issues that range from healthcare cuts, to local water and transportation policy, to municipal budgets and even a national constitution.

A Citizens’ Jury in Australia administered by one of our partners, the newDemocracy Foundation

A Global Movement


These groups have been more common in Australia, Canada, the United States, and Europe. A similar process – Deliberative Polling – has been practiced throughout Europe as well as in Argentina, Brazil, China, Japan, Korea, and Macao. Other initiatives have seen these tools accompany actual decision-making power. The Green Party of Korea, for example, randomly selected all the members of their 2013 annual congress to decide the party’s budget and action plan for the following year. Since 2003, the Zapatista communities in Chiapas, Mexico have governed themselves with rotative ‘Good Government Councils’, with the goal of allowing all community-members (men, women, and youth) a turn as council member so as to increase familiarity with, and trust of, their government. Even though it often doesn’t make the headlines, there are many groups actively furthering this growing movement and there have been hundreds of noteworthy democratic experiments just over the past few decades. The interactive map below highlights a few that have inspired us, to give an idea of just how global the movement really is (and to show some other groups doing important work that you should follow, support, and plug into!).

Click on a colored dot and more information along with relevant links will appear below the map, and let us know if there is a community, organization, or event you think we should add!

Lily Communities that have experimented with innovative forms of democracy
Blue - Light Organizations dedicated to democratic innovation
Green - Light Citizens Juries/Panels/Assemblies
Yellow Deliberative Polls
Orange Other innovative initiatives

Global Movement Placeholder
Global Movement

Building on the Past


Our efforts might also be seen on an historical continuum, as neither random selection nor rotation is new. Both were fundamental to governance in Athens, Greece where the word “democracy” was first coined around 2,500 years ago.

What did democracy really mean in Athens?
TED-Ed video by Melissa Schwartzberg

The rotation of everyday people in-and-out of leadership positions has also been a central practice in el Ayllu, a form of governance used in many rural Andean communities in Bolivia, Peru, and Ecuador since pre-Inca times. Random selection and rotation of decision-makers has also been central to the court jury system in many countries worldwide. Seen together, the modern initiatives above are indicative of a renewed interest in the transformative potential of these practices, as well as the emergence of a more creative approach to governance more generally. Democracy In Practice forms part of this creative present, learning from our experience and thereby working to contribute to a more democratic future.

For more information as well as news sources and recommended readings, check out the links in the sidebar!

Find out more!

General

Participedia

News on Alternative Democratic Practices

openDemocracy Equality By Lot (blog)

Recommended Readings

Demarchy (pamphlet) by Brian Martin Random Selection in Politics by Lyn Carson and Brian Martin When the People Speak by James Fishkin Is Democracy Possible? by John Burnheim The Athenian Democracy in the Age of Demosthenes: Structure, Principles, and Ideology by Mogens Herman Hansen

Support our work!

We need your help to continue working to develop and share better ways to do democracy!

Top
ES
Democracy In Practice
Democracy In Practice